Nissan 240SX Forums banner

Sleepy's Grip Build

111K views 963 replies 44 participants last post by  RikRong 
#1 ·
This is my first time doing a turbo build, and the car is my daily. So far its been a 4 month process, and I'm currently putting everything back together and trying to correct the damage done by a shop that really had no idea how to do a turbo setup on a KA, and frankly no business doing most of what they did. More on that dumb ass and his shop later... who knows I might find more things he did wrong. Most of this is just copied from my build thread on another forum. Hopefully its entertaining / helpfull to people out there doing the same shit.

And yes, I did promise strippers, blow, and slow cars street racing in another thread if this one gets sufficently awesome. So make it happen!

Car: '95 se

Setup breakdown:
Subaru 550cc side feeds (swapping clips was more of a PITA than I'd expected)
Walbro 255
Turbonetics Ball bearing T04B, .48 a/r
Turbonetics BOV, & WG
Modified Ebay S14 SR intercooler + charge piping kit
Ebay CXRacing Manifold
Custom DP
Custom exhaust
Relocated battery
Gauges: AEM wide band, autometer boost/vac, VDO water & oil temp, and a mechanical oil pressure gauge that needs to be replaced.
BikiROM for tuning; lol horray it works!!!

Adjustable Fuel pressure regulator - not originally planned
BC stage 2 cams - not originally planned

Down the road I'm planning on making a DIY manual boost controller, installing an adjustable FPR, re-doing the exhaust, running some race gas, and jacking boost for the occasional moment of significantly more than normal power. I also plan on an aftermarket radiator (w/ built in oil cooler if I can find one that will fit), so that the stock engine might survive a weekend or two at the track (road course for me) on low (5-7psi) boost.

**Late April**

Initial messy build pictures:
(sorry about size and quality, some were taking on a cell phone that isn't mine)

Mock up of turbo and manifold to make the DP