Nissan 240SX Forums banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a difference in quality/ performance b/w the 4 lug and 5 lug suspension setup? Does it really matter?

·
Registered
4,141 Posts
have you searched? at all?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yeah, but I'm still pretty new to using this search engine to its fullest potential...it seems people are converting to 5 lug w/ 300ZX brakes?

·
Registered
19 Posts
There's no performance difference between 4-lug and 5-lug. Wheel availability increases greatly with 5x114.3 lug size, and if you're going to convert using 300ZX hubs, it makes adding the ZX brakes easy as well.

- Brad

·
Registered
5,783 Posts
BSWhelchel said:
There's no performance difference between 4-lug and 5-lug. Wheel availability increases greatly with 5x114.3 lug size, and if you're going to convert using 300ZX hubs, it makes adding the ZX brakes easy as well.

- Brad
the wheel selection does increase, but a lot of companies make 4 lug drilled Z32(300zx) rotors.

·
Registered
4,141 Posts
jacob said:
But its hard to find cool 4 lug rims.
it's not hard... it's expensive. most companies will custom drill a wheel to 4 lug if you want - it will just cost more and take longer

·
Registered
5,783 Posts
or, you could go to a wheel shop/machine shop and they can fill the original holes and have them drilled in 4 lug for you.

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
You could do that but i highly dont recomend that. If theres one lil mistake then you will have a huge problems.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
my sister's honda is 4-lug, my car is 5-lug, and there did seem to be more variety of rim choices for the 5 lug.

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Well there lots of 4 lug wheels out there. There just not the right offset of size that most of us are looking for. As in power wise i have never seen a 4 lug snap all the studs so there perrty strong.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #13