Nissan 240SX Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So i have a 90 240sx hb and it has the stock single cam motor im wondering if i should do the swap to a sr20 or go ka-t because ive been seeing that sr's are illegal in ca? keep in mind im fairly new to the 240 scene and would just like some guidance or opinions so i can make a better informed choice

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
3 options:
Build the single - Legal
KA-T - Not so legal
SR - Just plain illegal
by build the single u mean like rebuilt it wit better parts to make it faster?
and the ka-t is not so legal? i mean if i got pulled over would i lose my car haha and the sr is illegal but do the think small city cops know a sr when they see one or do the chp jus noe them by look ? in ur opinion would it b worth it to get a sr i can proly get sum stuff i have several friends workin for a police/shieriff department

·
Premium Member
10,396 Posts
Considering you'd have to rebuild the SR, it's not really more work.

No, you can't just "drop in" an SR right off the pallet.

Do what you want. If you "noe places" then go for it. Just don't complain if they won't, or you get busted.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
No need for the attitude i was askin an opinion and o am leaning more towards a ka anyways smh so that begin said would a stock s14 engine fit into a s13 bay with lil to no mods?

·
Registered
493 Posts
You can't get away with much in California, at least not legally. You're pretty much limited to the following:

1. Complete swap of a later engine that meets California emissions. You must swap over all the later motor's emissions control items, including electronics.
2. CARB approved speed parts.