Nissan 240SX Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone, I have a couple questions to ask, but first I'll give some back story behind my project.

My sr20det swap is about done and i've been looking for a good place to get a tune. I'm really new to the whole ECU thing and am new to working on cars/engine swaps in general.

I called a local place that i've heard of that is supposedly very good. I was told I either need a new ECU or a piggy back for my stock sr20 ecu. My goals aren't to make a race car, but more of a street car/ a toy with some power. My goal at the moment would be about 200-250 rwhp, in that range. I figured I would probably need a tune.

So my first question is: With the only modifications being a z32 maf, 255 lph fuel pump, and tial bov 50mm/front mount intercooler, would I actually need the tune?

Second: If so, what should I be looking at as far as ECU's go if I do need one? Can anyone point me in the right direction to make a stron running daily driven sr20det @ 12psi?

Any feedback is appreciated. I'll keep prowling the forums and other places for info as well.

EDIT: 3rd question: if i used a stock redtop MAF, would I need a tune? I'm thinking that the MAF would most likely be the thing that makes or breaks the need for me to actually go and buy an ECU or piggyback. Would the stock redtop MAF be able to handle 12 psi?

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
First off, sorry for the double post.

I guess with some research I've decided to go with a JWT ecu, because they are already doing the conversion for my wiring harness. Anyone else have any better ideas? I've already thrown the idea of a SAFC out the window.

·
Registered
3,015 Posts