Nissan 240SX Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, I don't know how this gonna turn out......but, I'm getting an s14 sr20 and instead of doing a front mount, i'll do a vmount inthercoller. I figure I'll do something not many people are doing. Plus It be cool to have a sleeper looking car. No one will know i have an sr unless they hear the blowoff valve. But here some question i need answered.

What will have to be upgraded to do this fabrication?..
Is there any risk do to heat etc?..... Or any risk at all.
How much power can I make (potenial wise) using a smaller intercooler due to the amount of space that is available?..

give me some info about how im suppose to do this fabrication. I have someone who can do it, but I figure i learn a thing or 2. I know signal auto has an s14 with a vmount intercooler. Some of the question might be dumb but hey, im not a mechanic. thanks

·
Registered
3,797 Posts
ok, you'll need

1. a intercooler, yes they do make them in like (core size) 18x12x3, the same size i bought to do one on mine,

but i decided agaisnt it.

because

2. you'll need a aftermarket short (in height) radiator, and a way to have a secondary cooling fluid tank because you cant drop the top of the radiator lower than the head ... its actually kidna hard to do,... then you need to fabricate a tray for the radiator to rest on. as well as install a set of pull fans on the back of the radiator, and on top of the intercooler (for max efficency) so that the air divers up through the intercooler as well as down through the RAd....

you'll also need ot devise bracketry for the intercooler and notch out your rad support to fit the intercooler....

i donno man, i was all about doing it too, until i realized that there were more physics involved than i had money to spend....